Storyteller’s Toolbox – Blogging 101 assignment

As my regular readers know, I’m determined to remain anonymous.  But today’s prompt inspired me to step outside of Janey for a bit and post something I originally wrote about a dozen years ago.  Then a couple of years back I posted this on my other blog. That blog is still available online, though I haven’t posted there in forever.  I went there this morning fully intending to delete it completely.  That didn’t happen; there’s a lot of good stuff there.  Happy memories; rants; wonderful comments from the friends and followers I found.  I just couldn’t do it.  So in order to maintain my anonymity, I deleted only the post this was in from the other blog.  As far as I know, it isn’t posted anywhere else on the Internets; but if you should stumble on it elsewhere just know it’s mine and keep it on the down low please.  Thanks.

G ~ you’ll remember this.  🙂

Fall is not my favorite season.
At least that’s what I tell myself as
I dig out sweaters, scarves, mittens and caps,
making ready for the wild weather to come.
But as the air cools and the days grow short,
I know I’m a liar.

Fall is when I walk instead of ride to the store:
crunchy leaves of topaz and ruby carpet my path.
Crisp, tart apples fill my shopping bag,
along with sweet and sticky caramel cubes.
Tonight the apples will swirl in melted candy,
then march in formation across waxed paper.

And I will linger near dancing flames,
cupping a mug of hot cider and
sinking into my latest mystery novel.
As content as a baby newly fed, or
my ancient, tubby cat, curled in my lap.

10 thoughts on “Storyteller’s Toolbox – Blogging 101 assignment

  1. Pingback: Follow Friday: Poetry, Writers in the Trenches, and Rome! | Grasshopper Girls

  2. I like Fall, too. Sometimes it comes too fast, if our summer has been too short for my liking. But this year, cooler temperatures and sweater weather will come as a relief. (It’s October 4th and I still haven’t turned the heat on. Most unusual in Vancouver.) Then I just have to get through the winter. I wish I loved it more, but I don’t.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Follow Friday: Poetry, Writers in the Trenches, and Rome! | Knocked Up - Knocked Over

Leave a Reply

