Cheating

There are hundreds of thousands of Thanksgiving posts out here on the Internet.  No, I haven’t counted them, you’ll just have to trust me.  Many of them will be heartfelt, impassioned essays on why the author is grateful, why the reader should be grateful, or possibly filled with yummy recipes.  I’m sure most authors invest a lot of time drafting, reviewing, and revising their narratives before posting.  Right?  Or am I merely projecting my desire that authors be so diligent?  It can be hard work but in the end the final product reflects all that effort.

Well, if you’re a regular around here you probably know that my (work) plate full (see what I did there?  Plate.  Full.  Thanksgiving?  Oh fine, moving on…).  I barely managed to get out the November birthday cards for my family members.  Yes real cards in the mail with postage stamps and everything!  In spite of my busyness I wanted to post something in time for Thanksgiving.  I think I’m pretty blessed overall and I want to cultivate a more grateful spirit.  Earlier this week my file clerk shared this link to an article in the New York Times.

So instead of driving myself crazy trying to draft something inspired and original, I’m cheating.  For what it’s worth, I believe this is a valuable piece to read any time of year, but it’s especially appropriate now.  I think you’ll enjoy it.

Happy Thanksgiving.

6 thoughts on “Cheating

  1. Rebel against the emotional “authenticity” that holds you back from your bliss.
    This is something I think I’ve often felt but I’m so grateful to have it articulated in this way.
    Especially a few days after Thanksgiving. It’s good to have a reminder to be thankful for something every day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

