Dig It

I planted my first garden this year. We had some lovely squash, yummy cherry tomatoes, even some mixed lettuces and a truly awful cucumber. It has been neglected of late and today I finally went out to “put it to bed” for the winter.

Before I actually got down to the task of removing the old stuff it seemed like WORK and I procrastinated forever. But once I got started this morning, the destruction of all the dying plants was cathartic and ironically, constructive.

I found myself plotting out next year’s bed, deciding to have only cherry tomatoes because they were so much easier than the 2 larger ones. And they tasted better! Then it occurred to me I would need to remember which basil plant worked best at repelling the insects (not the Italian variety). 

Part of me wants to put in some flowers next year, though I have no idea where to start. I foresee some research through the rainy months ahead.

There’s something elemental about digging in the dirt isn’t there? I’ve heard people talk about gardening being their therapy. I don’t think I’d go that far, but when I wasn’t beating myself up for neglecting it, it did make me feel good.

One night this summer I made JD and I a little salad to go with dinner. I can’t describe the feeling I got when I told him that ALL the ingredients were from our garden!  It was as though I’d won something!

I’ve thought about expanding next year and the idea is attractive. But I had my hands full with my little raised bed this time around, so I’ll play it by ear and see what happens.

Either way I am hooked…not on phonics either.

6 thoughts on “Dig It

  1. I’m torn. I can fully appreciate the warm fuzzies felt at eating produce that YOU grew, as I get that feeling just from the jams/pie filings/salsa that I preserve using purchased produce. However, my tendency to procrastinate is quite strong and I’m old enough to admit I’m possibly too lazy to tend a garden! Plus my thumbs are brown so there’s that. …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes I wish I had space for a garden, or at least a more garden-friendly yard. There are spots where my wife has put in iris and we once had some shade-loving hostas, but as much as I’d love to put in some plants that would bear fruit–or vegetables–there’s just no space. And I know it would attract the raccoons that roam the neighborhood.
    I also remember my obsession with growing carnivorous plants which were fun but my entire collection was wiped out by a combination of aphids and whitefly which was so disheartening I gave up.
    On the other hand you’ve now got me craving salad and it’s good to crave something good for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

