Wrecking your resolutions

Many of you in the real world may have resolved to do some things in 2015.  Some popular resolutions include:

  • Lose weight
  • Quit smoking
  • Save money / Get out of debt
  • Yada
  • Yada
  • Yada

Did you know that 45% of Americans usually make New Year’s Resolutions?  That’s from a post last year according to Statistic Brain.  The same source says that 38% of Americans “absolutely never” make them.  I’m in that second group.

I used to make resolutions.  Losing weight was one of my regulars.  Saving money ranked right up there too.  I’m older and wiser now though.

Statistic Brain’s statistics also revealed that only 8% of people who make resolutions are successful in achieving them.  I’m definitely not in that group.  Hell, I’m the first to admit I’m a quitter.

We’ve all told ourselves that “this year will be different” haven’t we?  …  Just me?  Well okay then.  But I do want this year to be different.  No, I haven’t written a list of resolutions.  That will never again be me.  However, I am setting a goal for myself.  So, how is a goal different from a resolution you ask.  Well you didn’t ask, but I’m going to tell you anyway.

I don’t know.  But if you Google goals vs. resolutions you’ll get a whole bunch of hits, many by folks with fancy degrees or letters after their names.  They MUST know the difference, right?  Not so much.  One source says they’re different.  Someone else says they’re not.

I don’t care.  What I care about is that later this year I’m turning 59 and just once I’d like to be able to say I stuck with it.  Whatever IT is.  But even the word resolution turns me off and goal isn’t much better.  For some reason though, in my brain “goal” feels more doable.  Does it make sense?  Hell no.  But again, I don’t care.  So I’m setting myself one single goal for 2015.

To move more.

Yep, that’s it.  I need to get my secretary spread up out of the chair and move it.  What about you?  Setting any goals this year?

11 thoughts on “Wrecking your resolutions

  1. Pingback: 2017 Goals–On the Occasion that Your Mother Puts Her Frogs Where Her Mouth Is – dearlilyjune

Leave a Reply

