Opinions please

I stumbled on a hard copy of  Maxwell’s Silver Bullet.  There may be more than one version in the folder I found, I haven’t looked through it yet.

For those regular readers out there, you may recall that the above is the title of an unfinished novel and that I am contemplating – aw hell – I actually signed up so I guess contemplation time is over.  Anyway, I decided I would try NaNoWriMo this year and hopefully give Charlie the story she deserves.

So my question for you all is:  Do I re-read the hard copy or do I just wing it – starting from scratch?  Please respond in the comments.  Serious or smartass answers are all welcome.

Thanks in advance!

11 thoughts on “Opinions please

  1. Don’t know how far you got in the novel. Here’s my suggestion. Re-read it. As you do, make a list of the scenes and make short notes on each. Not too long. If you come across any prominent lines you might want to use, note those. You might want to make some notes for what will come next. Not necessarily an outline. This will help familiarize you with the character and get excited about her again.

    Then begin from scratch. That way you can get excited about the book and build the momentum you will need. One thing is don’t feel guilty if you leave something out. Think of this as a totally different work with a new title. Hope this helps.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. jumping off don’s comment, i might outline the story you want now, the high points. it may be totally different bits and pieces than before. then go back and see what parts of the earlier draft can fit the new idea, the new charlie. looking forward to dodging bullets with her.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sadly, I’m sure there’s nothing I can say that would be of any help. I read your post and didn’t understand it at first because I thought you were writing about “Maxwell’s Silver Hammer,” which is a Beatles’ song from their 1969 classic album, “Abbey Road.” So I was kind of lost from the get-go on this post. Sorry.

    Like

  4. Reread it, if for no other reason than to compare yesterday’s writing style to today’s. If you still love it, then keep writing. If not, begin again! At the end of the day, it’s YOUR story and you have to love it, our opinions are irrelevant 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

